My New Acoustic Guitar!

I ordered a Fender DG-8S Acoustic Guitar Pack from Long & Mcquade online on June 15th! And it arrived today! =D!
IMAG0405

The reason why I didn’t go and pick it up in-store was because I actually saw this specific guitar set in Steve’s Music Store (downtown in Queen’s Street), but I was turned off by the service and lack of extra stock, AND the state of the ONE guitar they had in stock on display. I was so bummed when I left the store cuz of an embarrassing situation that had happened there. But good thing for me, I found the same set on L&MQ’s website online! And although I was going to pick it up on a Friday… (which was the friday with Charisse, actually), I found out that it was out of stock THE MORNING OF. So of course, I panicked a tad bit, and ordered it online… even though it said Out of Stock online too… At that point I just didn’t care, I just wanted my guitar, and as long as it was new out of the box, I didn’t care where it came from.

So I was hoping that somehow the company would deal with the lack of stock, and I just paid, and was waiting for almost ten days until I emailed the company. A day later, an email came saying they shipped it! And THE NEXT DAY… Purolator brought it to my door. I actually didn’t receive it in person, but apparently the mail guy came just ten minutes before I reached the door.

I kind of put off opening it cuz I wanted to take pictures with the dslr, but since my sister took it for her event, and since I was just so impatient… I just went ahead and used my phone to capture this memory, lol~

So on with the details of the guitar, and less of my rambling…

The order arrived in this HUGE box… which was like, around the same height as my shoulders. IT WAS EXCITING. LOL.

Right when I entered, the box was there. EXCITEMENT!

Right when I entered, the box was there. EXCITEMENT!

I opened the big box, and then a smaller triangular box, and THEN this box (below), and THEN the gig bag… which (finally) had the guitar. Lol.

IMAG0403IMAG0404

The pack came with: "a dreadnought acoustic guitar with a solid spruce top (below), a gig bag, chromatic electronic tuner, an instruction DVD, strings, picks, and strap (not in the picture)

The pack came with: “a dreadnought acoustic guitar with a solid spruce top (below), a gig bag, chromatic electronic tuner, an instruction DVD, strings, picks, and strap (not in the picture)

I specifically chose one with the (black top part?), not sure what it's called. I think it completes the simple color-theme. :)Also, I think this guitar is maybe a 3/4 size... because it isn't as big as Charlene's full-sized guitar for sure, and it fits into my arms better. It's not 3/4, it's a full sized guitar. Though I wish it was smaller now...

I specifically chose one with the (black top part?), not sure what it’s called. I think it completes the simple color-theme. 🙂
Also, I think this guitar is maybe a 3/4 size… because it isn’t as big as Charlene’s full-sized guitar for sure, and it fits into my arms better. It’s not 3/4, it’s a full-sized guitar. Though I wish it was smaller now…

Originally my budget was under $100. But when I went shopping with my friend, Charlene, my budget kept going higher as I saw the guitars in person. Eventually my “Omg, $100 for a guitar…” mindset changed to “$200 for a good guitar?! Bargain!”

In the end, the price was $199.99, with Free Shipping, L&MQ Shipping Insurance ($6), tax ($23.53), and a random $25 rebate (I don’t even know but I’m not complaining!)…
the total = $204.52

I thought it was a good deal, especially because the rebate took care of the tax, and since at that time I was unsure about this, I decided to get the $6 shipping insurance. (Even though I usually never do that, I wasn’t willing to take the risk this time).

PLUS! I didn’t have to bother carrying the huge box home. So it was good that I ordered it online after all. Hehe 😛

Now the problem is that I haven’t learned the guitar before. Other than playing around with Charlene’s black full-sized one, I don’t know how to play chords, I don’t know the placements of the fingers, how to strum, etc. But my younger cousin who took some lessons before (but forgot by now) gave me his old instructions book, so maybe I’m going to start with that. (Thank goodness for diagrams!)

Maybe after I practice some, and after I learn some, I will finally be able to play the songs I’ve wanted to cover. First on my list is 곁에 by 짙은! 😛 (Yeah, all the songs I wanna do are like, Korean, LOL). But first… I need to understand all this musical lingo ><…

Someone teach me how to strum!!! @>_<@

2 thoughts on “My New Acoustic Guitar!

  1. I've always be impressed by the person who know how to pay an instrument. When I was younger, my mother thought it was a good idea to offer me a guitar…Now, the instrument is in a corner of my bedroom and is covered of dust T_T

Leave a Reply

