Review: Etude House – Collagen Moistfull Essence-in Primer

IMG_1&2

Etude House Collagen Moistfull Essence-In Primer

I ordered this primer from Sasa online, back in December. It was cheaper than eBay by a couple dollars. I think this essence-in primer has been out for quite a while now, since I’ve seen this Etude House packaging here and there. I bought this because earlier in the winter months I was having really dry skin, and my makeup would almost always just dry up and become flaky. After using this though, my powder foundation stayed on longer (and looked better too!), and also, my skin was more hydrated during the day.

This primer essence is a dual product, so it hydrates like an essence would, and helps makeup stay on like a primer would. Kind of great for people with dry skin, I’d say.

The first thing that struck me about this product was the look of it. It looks liked a huge layer of oil sitting on top of water. You’re supposed to shake it well so it blends together. When I shake and spray it, it feels like light oil. You’d think it’d be too much, but actually, it’s not. It’s just right. After I apply and blend it feels smooth. The oil formula hydrates dry skin well. It is scented, but it’s not irritating. It’s a bit more on the fruity side, I think.

I use it in two ways, depending on my mood:

  1. As a base primer – after skincare, before powder makeup — spray, pat in, apply makeup
  2. As a set-in spray – after powder makeup — spray, pat in

If I do it as a base, it keeps my skin hydrated and serves as a primer.
If I use it as a setter, it makes my powder makeup look more like my own skin. Not dusty, y’know what I mean?

I don’t use this if I’m going to wear BB cream, because my skin tends to look too cakey. I only use the Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream in #21 now, and that one’s texture is more creamy than the watery-type of BB creams. I don’t like heavy coverage since it feels and looks like too much to me, so I don’t mix this primer with BB cream. I only use this essence-in primer with powder makeup. Once I used it just as a leave-in essence without wear face makeup. (But of course I cleansed it off later that day)

Also, I didn’t actually finish that much of the bottle myself. I shook some and poured it into a small spray bottle to give Charlene to try out. Even though I reminded her multiple times that you’re supposed to shake it before spraying it, she forgot, lol.

IMG_4499&4500
I only use this sometimes now since my skin’s more hydrated nowadays. And also, because the spray nozzle is weird now. It sprays unevenly, so it’s a bother to have to spray directly onto my fingers and pat it in. Which means I can’t spray post-makeup anymore too, since it would shift the makeup a little if I pat afterwards. Before I could just spray directly on to my face (aiming towards my cheeks and nose), but now when I do it is uneven, so one side would have more and in and off direction too. I could have transferred it to another bottle, but nah, I don’t want to bother.

xx
Leave a Reply

